55 Years & Still Rolling
    Glenn Dale Md, Heart of the P.G. County Fire Belt....

Talking Quality Control Check????

How 'bout a quality check for the forums?? Can the web team install a "spell check" device to catch some of the more difficult malaprops? Or do I bring up a needless, pot stirring, debate? Stay Safe....
    Never use Force! Get a Bigger Hammer.
    In memory of
    Chief Earle W. Woods, 1912 - 1997
    Asst. Chief John R. Woods Sr. 1937 - 2006

IACOJ Budget Analyst

I Refuse to be a Spectator. If I come to the Game, I'm Playing.

www.gdvfd18.com

Forum Member

I am no computer expert, so I don't know if the WT could do this. BUT, in order for a poster to post a message, that individual has to be on a COMPUTER......Right........??????

Most computers I have seen have some form of WORD PROCESSING program that includes a spell check feature......Right..?????

I am just marginally computer literate, but I do know how to have 2 windows open (maybe one the word processing program with spell check) and the other window FH, so that I could type into the word processing program, then cut and paste the SPELL CHECKED result into FH. This, of course, will not catch errors of usage, such as when to use there or their or they're, but it will catch general spelling or typing errors, which can help in getting a message across.

I can't help but think that an embedded spell check program would slow things up even more!

I am a firm believer in individual responsibility.
    9/11/01 Never forget Never forgive

Dusty, working on Crusty IACOJ

Forum Member

A spell check option would kill us as almost every username would fail. Almost all of our "shortcuts" would also fail (E-One, SCBA, RIT) It would make it more of a nuisance than it would be worth.

Besides, didn't everyone learn to spell in like first grade? God knows, my daughter keeps correcting me!