Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default PA-NJ cert reciprocity (for vollie)

Just trying to get an idea of what I am in for. I am finally buying a house in PA (Northampton County). I have been a volunteer firefighter here in NJ for 5 years, have taken FF1 (120 hrs) HazMat Ops, Emerg Vehicle Ops, Pump Operator, Fire Officer 1 (45 hrs) and various other courses over that period. Wondering what, if any, reciprocity I can expect from a PA volunteer department. I will be living in Northampton County and commuting to Somerset County NJ, so I will neither have the time nor the inclination to go through another 120 hours of fire school...
    "Non Sibi, Sed Aliis"

"Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends." John 15:13
    GOD BLESS OUR FALLEN BROTHERS

With those certifications listed, I would welcome you into my department. I don't suspect you will have any problems.

Thanks for your help and the quick reply. Stay safe!
    "Non Sibi, Sed Aliis"

"Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends." John 15:13

MembersZone Subscriber Bikefire's Avatar

Thumbs up

There is a Firefighter I Challenge June 1st at Bucks County Pennsylvania Public Safety Training Center. That is the county just south of Northampton County. Excellent Fire school, with National accreditation.

Here is their phone number 215-340-8417.
    Be kind to fire fighters. Please don't let your dogs use fire hydrants.

Excellent, thanks for the information. Where is that located in Bucks County? I will be coming from Nazareth Borough.
    "Non Sibi, Sed Aliis"

MembersZone Subscriber Bikefire's Avatar

It is located just south of Doyelstown on Pa Rt 611. I think the town of Edison? Got the link here for directions. http://www.bucks.edu/~fireschl/directions.html
    Be kind to fire fighters. Please don't let your dogs use fire hydrants.