Thread: Seeking Advice

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Seeking Advice

I'm a female firefighter/EMT and I was wondering if anyone had any words of wisdom for trying to do this for a career. I plan to finish up my Fire Science Technology degree in the next year or so and wanted to start looking around for a job. Any advice is welcome...I already know I'll most likely need to relocate to a new state (Michigan offers next to nothing for fire jobs). You can either reply on here, or email me: ping9798@hotmail.com

Thank you..I appreciate any help.

MembersZone Subscriber

TT wouldn't happen to stand for Thomas Township would it?

MembersZone Subscriber

Actually, it's Tittabawassee Township. Damn close though!

STFD = Saginaw Township FD?

Forum Member

Default Physical

The biggest problem female candidates have in gaining a badge is upper body strength to pass the physical agility. Can you pass? If not, everything you are doing is for not.

This might help:

Physical Agility, CPAT, Biddle What Ever

Often, candidates don't realize that it's not just strength in the physical agility. The "Nugget " is technique, momentum and grip. If you are uncertain or having problems in the physical, take advantage of any college or academy programs to learn the techniques to practice pulling hose, throwing a latter, dragging a dummy (not you), etc. Many departments offer practice sessions for their physical test prior to the actual date of testing. Don't pass up this opportunity.