MembersZone Subscriber

Default Continuation of the Closed Thread (so much for free speech)

DFD and NMFIRE, put yourself in my shoes for a minute.

I am a Company Level Officer on a Company whose yearly runs match those of some Large Cities. I go out the door up to 20 times a day in the Officer Seat of either a Ladder or Engine Company. I have numerous things to concern myself with to ensure fireground tasks get completed and to ensure the safety, well-being and return of my crew after EACH run.

Some of the things that most Engine/Ladder officers have to do are, including but not limited to (and in no specific order) , Looking up the Address, Finding a Hydrant, Maintaining Communication with a Dispatcher, Proper Placement of my apparatus if I am first-in to ensure the Ladder has access, A quick Radio Size-up on arrival and a more detailed one to the IC later, Locating the seat of the fire and directing my Nozzleman to that point, a primary search, thinking to myself "There is a car out front, is anyone in here?" I have to keep contact with each member of my crew and know his/her location at all times...I could go on, but I am sure you already know this stuff.