Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread

Default Ciao from Italy!

Hello everybody!

My name Marco, volunteer from 1983 in volunteer fire department of San Giovanni in Persiceto near Bologna city, Italy (25.000 inhabitants, 500 rescues/year - no EMS). My degree is "caposquadra", maybe your "liutenent"? Everyway, I master the team (well, I try, have some wild guys here... ).

To live I work as software consultant, but I love to be a firefighter ("pompiere").

I like your forums a lot, I learn a lot of things from your discussion. I am mainly surprised that we share a very similar culture, problems, tricks, feelings.

If somebody wants some news about Italy firefighting, can find me here. And sorry for my english.

Ciao, marco

Greetings from the USA. I hope you succeed in your aspirations.

ciao' Brother in Italia

JW
    "Making Sense with Common Sense"
    Motor Vehicle Rescue Consultants
    ( MVRC@comcast.net) Jordan Sr.

Welcome to firehouse . My girlfriend is in Italy this week,
    she says it is wonderfull . It is good to have your input.

Patrick ---- Havana Florida VFD

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Welcome

Very interesting.
    I thought all of Europe were paid. Now I see an Italian Volunteer.
    Wonder if it is same culture as US vol.'s?

Have a nice day and hope you keep Firehouse as your main web site.

Thumbs up Europe, a lot of volunteers

Thank you for your welcome!

Some info: in Italy we have a national corp, with 60.000 (about) payed and 4.000 volunteer. We are an exception: in all Europe (and in the autonomous area of italian Trentino region) the 90% of firefighters are volunteers. Swiss hasn't payed ff at all.

I read a lot in your books and web sites (wonderful Firehouse!), and met a brother in Kayenta (AZ) last year: yes, we share a very very similar culture, in firefighting in general, and particularly as volunteer, as well as for payed ff. I didn't expect, and I am very glad.