Forum Member

Default Taunton, MA Cuts Nearly Half of Public Safety Force

WJAR NBC 10

TAUNTON, Mass. -- Taunton is cutting public safety officers to cope with a budget deficit, News Channel 10's Kim Keough reported.

City residents call the cuts "dangerous."

Taunton is facing a $6.8 million shortfall. But instead of raising taxes and fees, the city is laying off firefighters and police officers.

"We have to have the revenues and the expenditures balanced as of July 1," Mayor Ted Strojny said.

Of 164 layoffs, 97 will be firefighers and police officers, Keough reported.

"As a resident, I think it's appalling," Paul Damon said. "We have city property in the city of Taunton that can be sold instead of laying off public safety officials."

As of Friday afternoon, the Fire Department laid off 50 firefighters from a force of 128.

"We have a normal house fire, we send three engines. Right now, we'll send three engines to a normal house fire. So, if they have these layoffs and close three stations, we only have two engines to start with," said Lee Beauvais, president of the firefighters' union.

On Monday, the Police Department will shrink as well, from 14 officers per shift to four officers.

"People will die as a result of these decisions," Chief Raymond O'Berg said bluntly.

The mayor said the city will begin rehiring laid off workers as soon as the city begins to recover revenue.

---------------------------------------

Forum Member