Angry Does Mediocrity Overcome Common Sense?

My Fellow Brothers and Sisters:
    I've been following this forum for the past four years. I've learned much from everyone who has posted. However, I've finally come to the point that I had to vent and get some feedback from my fellow brothers and sisters.
    I've been a volunteer firefighter for five years. In that time, I've had the honor of being part of a professional group of volunteers. That was the first department to which I belonged. They had bylaws they adhered to, S.O.P's they followed to the letter, and officers who spoke with authority and professionalism. As happens in life, I met the love of my life, got married and moved to a new community. I applied and was accepted onto their department. However, I noticed that things were different from my first department. There was alcohol in the station, no training required when you obtained your gear, no S.O.P's in place, and no training records kept. I found this a bit odd, but considering that I'm the probie, I kept my peace. I did ask questions, and seek information. As is the custom in the fire service. I usually got the answer, "This is the way we do it and have always done it". I guess tradition is considered important. I noticed no PASS devices on turnouts or on SCBA's. Of course, I asked about that. "Why would we need them?" O.k....well, fast forward two years. We've got a training officer, PASS devices just came in, new helmets, and a new thermal imaging camera. But poor morale in the department. Due to the furor caused in Elgin, Iowa regarding alcohol in the department, the department voted to remove it from the station. Well, there were less people coming to calls than before, the department split into cliques, and a war was on. No leadership from the officers, well...almost none. The decision was made six months later to bring the beer back. Amazingly, morale didn't improve (go figure ). Call attendance was still down, and the complaining was hitting