Thread: any ideas?

Default any ideas?

I'm posting here to see if someone with more experience in the hiring process can point me in the right direction. I have applications in with just about every department in my state (Louisiana). So far, none of the departments have contacted me for an interview (6-8 months). From what I understand of the hiring process, you can't go wrong until you get to the oral interview, is this true? My qualifications are as follows:

Firefighter I
    Hazmat I
    B.S. from an acredited univ.
    4 years volunteer experience
    97% on civil service written

My degree is in an unrelated field, could this be holding me back? I'm grasping straws trying to figure out where i'm going wrong here, does anyone have any ideas or suggestions that may be of some help?

Forum Member

Have you followed in local media (newspaper, online, grapevine) which departments are hiring? Have you sent to departments even if they weren't hiring at the moment? When I got my paramedic certification and was 1/2 through FF1, I began sending letters & applications to nearby towns & cities. My circle got bigger & bigger until I had sent to 25 different places around the state. It was 7 weeks before I had a call for the interview. Keep plugging away, and read up on fire department interviews, frequently asked questions, and so forth. Good luck!

~Kevin
    FF/Paramedic

Forum Member

Default Job listings

Also Check the job listings on this and other firefighter web sites.

http://cms.firehouse.com/content/jobs/

Unrelated Degrees

How to present your unrelated degrees?

I have three degrees in law enforcement. Every time I go to an oral board, they seem to target and spend too much time discussing my law enforcement education. What can I do?