Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber

Talking Hello from Illinois!

Hello everyone! My name is Jennifer but because there are so many Jennifer's and Jenny's, I go by Jenni. I am an emt-b and currently enrolled in fire science I and II to get my FFII certification. I know that my chances of getting on a dept will increase after I have my FFII ( out here they do entrance into the paramedic program for those who are ona fire dept get priority, then those on ambulance services, then regular civilians..needless to say it's darn hard to get in there!).
    Anyway, i have been applying anyway, and taking fire fighting exams too. Gladly I places #7 on the dept I would absolutely love to be with out of 325!
    I have wanted to be a firefighter /paramedic since I was about 13 years old and had my share ( and I think some other people's shares too, LOL!) of obsticals along the way. I am going to make this happen for me as I have not been happy with any other jobs i have had, always knowing that this was what I wanted to do.
    I am fairly new to this site so I have a lot of looking and reading to do and I know that I will be back to see if I can find answers to questions I may have or post some new ones. Until then,
    does anyone have any advice for anyone searching to get on a good dept?
    Thanks in advance!
    Stay Safe,
    Jenni
    Last edited by phoenixnraven; 08-07-2003 at 03:34 PM.

CUTTER
    Firehouse.com Guest

Welcome to the fire service and to the fourms Jenni. You are on your way already so don't let anybody get in your way.

THE ONLY WAY TO FAIL IS TO QUIT CUTTER

MembersZone Subscriber

Default getting a firefighter job

Take a CPAT (physical ability) test to see where you fit in physically and if you have any areas to work on will become apparent. Best of luck. We need more caring people!!

Welcome to the forums Jen

My online FD CSFD is looking for Firefighter - Paramedics if your intrested