Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber

Angry what more do they need to hire me

HELLO EVERYONE, THE QUESTION ON MY MIND ANY MANY OTHERS. WHAT MORE DO I NEED TO GET A JOB, I AM A FIREFIGHTER, FIRE INSPECTOR, E.M.T. AND WORKING ON MY DEGREE IN FIRE SCIENCEE AND ALL I HEAR FROM INTREVIEWS ARE YOU NEED EXPREINCE WELL, HOW MUCH CAN YOU DO AS A VOLUNTEER BESIDES MOVE TO A CITY AND HOPE THE LIST DOES NOT GET SCREWWD UO OR THE STATE HOLDSS THE TEST, PLEASE IF ANY ONE CAN OFFER ADVISE I WILL GLADY TAKE IT .

OH YEAH I HAVE EVEN DONE THE PRIVATE SECTOR FOR WORK AND THEY SEEM MORE PROMMISING

Forum Member

Default Poor Interview Skills?

The Problem is Poor Oral Board Skills!

Most candidates do poorly on their oral boards. The problem is most of them don't know how poorly they are doing. I've seen it too often after being on over 100 oral boards. It's the most misunderstood and least prepared for portion of the testing.

With all respect to the following comment, this is one of the most important clues why candidates have trouble in their oral boards:
    "I recently had an interview, and I know my answers were great especially after hearing how another candidate answered them. He made the list, and I did not. Go figure!" Jed.

This is the problem! Most candidates think their answers are great, when they aren't. If their answers were as great as they thought, they would make the list and get a badge. They listen to other candidates and firefighters who make them into clones. Have you noticed, that once a person becomes a firefighter, they are instantly the experts on how to get hired?

The following is a true story: If we can get the village idiot hired, you can get a badge too! That's right! We had a candidate who was a volunteer taking his third test to be hired as a paid member. When this guy was out of town, the village didn't have an idiot.