Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Fireground Photography

My name is Kernin Lambert. I am a Senior Firefighter, with the NSW Fire Brigades, based in Sydney Australia. I am also the Brigades Operational Photographer.

Due to a recent event, I now have to acquire new photographic equipment. As many of you who have taken photographs on firegrounds will appreciate, fire photography can be a very challenging science. I am seeking your respected opinions and experiences regarding digital photography. Could some of you please advise of your satisfaction or otherwise with digital cameras at the fireground.

Thanks, your help will be most appreciated,

Kernin

Default 2 cents...

I am no expert, but I have found it better to turn
    OFF my flash on my Sony digital camera during
    live fire and just about anything else.

Also, I have been VERY happy with my Sony camera.
    VERY EASY to use. (Dont think I even read the directions)
    I like having the memory stick option. Sony seems
    to be very popular with my department.

I also save all of my pictures on ofoto. www.ofoto.com
    They offer all the memory you need and other
    people can view and purchase your pics. on real
    kodak paper.

Again, hope that helps.
    Last edited by CALFFBOU; 08-25-2003 at 11:52 PM.

MembersZone Subscriber

Talking

Kernin, I was a professional digital photographer until I was hired as a FF a few months ago. There are a lot of things to consider when looking into digital photography. Here are a few of the basics.
    1. What are you going to be doing with your images? Printing them our or using them for the internet... It makes a difference. Try to get the most "megapixels" you can afford. The more megapixels you have the larger you can get your images printed out.
    2. How much money do you want to spend. You can go from a few hundered dollars for a point and shoot to thousands of dollars for larger cameras