MembersZone Subscriber

Default First Responders on the Fire Dept! NEED HELP ASAP

Hi everyone,

Ok I have a problem and i need everyones opinion on this topic.
    In my city the EMS ans Fire are two Seperate entities. Today I found out that the Fire dept wants to start its own First responder program but none of them will go to school to become emts. None of them have any ems experiance and will not even train with the ems. I myself am both a ff/emt but the fire dept. in my city will not let me join because of my being an EMT so i am a firefighter in a different town. Anyways.........everyone involved here is A volunteer, and the EMS response time to ALL Calls is 5-10 minutes(on Scene, At Pt) My question for you all is.......should the Fire dept have a first response program started so they reaspond to ALL EMS CALLS whether needed or not?

Thanks

MembersZone Subscriber

We have such a system in my county, each fire department has its own first responders. You must at a minimum complete a 65 hour first responder course to run ems calls.

It works well for us, it allows us as first respondesr to arrive on scene in some cases well before EMS, and we can update them on patient status, begin treatment within the scope of what the first responder protocol allows, and begin obtaining patient information and history. Once EMS arrives, we can conduct a hand off and have the first set of vitals, pertinat history, a list of medications, and whatever else is needed in that situation done or in progress, so EMS can load and go faster. We also assist EMS with loadng and in the ambulance on the ride to the hospital if need be. It really pays off in many cases, including getting an AED on scene faster. Even if they beat me there, they rarely turn down the help documenting the patient info,

With a 5-10 minute response time, getting bodies on scene earlier with the proper traing and equipment will help.