Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Question Have Questions Re: Internships

I am a College student at Fox Valley Tech. College in Appleton WI. currently studying under their Fire Protection and Training Program, in hopes to one day become a fire fighter.

My question is this: I want to intern at a department nearby, beit vpaid or unpaid. Do you need an Intern Cover Letter, if so can anyone help in supplying an example. I have no previous f.f. experience, and think it would be a good idea if I got some somewhere.

As; are cover letters really necessary in applying for an internship or should one just show up and basically say, "put me to work"?

Any thoughts, comments, concerns, and feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You!!!!!

Doogie2@firehouse.com
    or
    Doogie2dk@yahoo.com

Forum Member FireCapt1951retired's Avatar

Doogie2,

Not sure about Wisconsin but I did my 2 semesters of internships with paid departments. What I did was go and talk to the chiefs to find out if they would accept me as an intern for my Public Administration Degree because I wanted to specialize in fire departments. I found all the chiefs I talked to very receptive and was accepted by all but could only chose one. I had to take a letter from the Department Chief and supply it to my University and the University Department Head had to approve it.