Thread: Where were you?

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Where were you?

As we remember our fallen heros, and all the victims from 2 years ago, I have a question to ask.

This question is not really directory to the members of the FDNY, New Jersey, Washington DC or any other fire department that responded directly to the horror 2 years ago. Although you are more than welcome to respond also.

It is mainly directed to those of us who heard about it on the news, who were glued to our TV, computers, radios or whatever communication device available to them.

I was wondering what you were doing when you heard the news of this tragedy.

Personally, as a volunteer firefighter, I was at work. I was working thru a problem when my wife called me. I will never forget her statement:

"Here is your Incident Command problem for the day. A passenger plane hits the World Trade Center"

The reason she called me with this comment, was because I completed and ICS course the night before. As I searched the net for news, the best place I found was surprisingly BBC. They finally put a TV up, I stopped by just to see the first tower fall. I will never forget the sinking feeling that I had while watching it. In watching the fires from the second tower, I knew it was only a matter of time for that one to fall. I was glued to the TV and BBC website trying to get more news.

In the weeks and months to follow, I am sorry to admit that I was getting tired of the news now. The stories were all the same, the images ran together. But worst of all was the news anchors. Sometimes (okay, most of the time) I wish they would just shut up and let the pictures speak for themselves. This is what I was truly tired of.

As the few survivors emerged, I felt great relief, but also great sadness. I was very happy for the families of those that survived. It was a great burden lifted from them. However, there we thousands more that would never have this burden lifted.