Thread: Conduct on Duty

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Conduct on Duty

ok--question for the ethics squad--

Have 2 firefighters, one who I live next door to, one a female rookie, having an affair.

The one I live next door to has a wife and 3 kids. The female rookie just finished up a relationship with our chief (though this was on the up and up since they we're both single adults).

Here's the problem, the 2 involved firefighters are not hiding the fact that they are carrying on like a pair of teenagers, the rest of us are kind of p-o'ed that they are doing this stuff in the public eye, morale is kind of dipping and of course, I live next door to the unaware wife and kids.

My wife is getting increasingly nervous about this-she and I don't want to get involved while at the same time, we don't want to appear as accomplices to the crime by going along with the crime(actually, many of my firefighters feel the same way at the firehouse).

Also, I am an officer in this department and I do have a duty to maintain the morale and discipline of "the troops".

Does anyone out there have some advice--

I know it sounds like "As the Firehouse Turns" but it's becoming a problem.
    "When you are safe at home, you wish you were having an adventure-when you're having an adventure, you wish you were safe at home"

--Thornton Wilder

MembersZone Subscriber

Default First thing is first...

Well first off, how does your neighbors wife look! Maybe you can assist her in some pay back if it's worth it if you know what I mean!!!
    Chris Shields
    Lieutenant / EMT
    Haz-Mat Technician
    East Syracuse Fire Dept
    Onondaga County, NY

District Chief