Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Volunteer opportunities in Texas

I recently moved from northern NJ to Dallas, TX. In NJ I was a volunteer firefighter for 7 years and I don't want to end that part of my life. Is anyone aware of any departments in the Dallas area that accept volunteers? I have done some research and see that most departments are career and the only volunteer ones I have come accross are a substantial distance from the city. I though I remembered someone mentioning Cockrell Hill fire department, but I have not found any information. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I did a search on google and didn't come up with much. But, there does appear to be a dept. called that. I would imagine that there are some VFD's up there somewhere. I guess it boils down to where you are in relation to them. Maybe someone from up that way will have some info. I know that you used to be able to obtain an "alpha list" from Austin, TX that had all of the paid FD's in the state, along with their address' and ph numbers. Not sure if there is a list ofr VFD's though. That list may have come from the TX commission of fire protection located in Austin. Thier addy is:

TX Fire Comm.

Anyway, maybe they can help if no one else knows anything.

Good luck.
    http://www.sanantoniofire.org

IACOJ
    Got Crust?

We lucky few, ... we band of brothers

COCKRELL HILL VFD -- 4125 W CLARENDON DR, DALLAS, TX 75211-4919
    Type: VOL. Phone: (214) 330-6333 Fax: (214) 330-5483 Last update: 9/24/1997.
    Fire Chief: RANDY K FRANKLIN Fire Marshal: N/A Training Officer: N/A
    http://www.sanantoniofire.org

IACOJ
    Got Crust?

We lucky few, ... we band of brothers

Thank you very much for your help. Don't really feel like keeping the leather on the bookshelf much longer.

MembersZone Subscriber

WhatExit-

Can you let me know what you found out? Just send me what ever you found out in a PM

Thanks
    Proud member of the IACOJ
    ftm-ptb-egh