Default MCC Student Question. . .

I am a student a Mesa Community College. I'm considering pursuing a career in rescue work. Currently I am writing a report for an English class were I am researching Maricopa County emergency workers and procedures. I have a few questions that I hope someone can answer for me.

1- How does the dispatch know which firehouse engines to send to a particular incident? Is it location to the incident?

2- If more than one engine is required will the dispatch send engines from different houses, or multiple form the same firehouse?

3- Are engines required to have there sirens and lights on going to an incident (ie if the engine is the second one coming from a firehouse will both engines have sirens and lights on)?

4- Is a degree in Fire Science required to become a fire fighter?

Thank you for your help.

Student01

Forum Member

Student, let's see if a paramedic can answer some of your questions here!!

1. Cities & even some towns are broken up into districts that are covered by certain firehouses and their apparatus. If you've ever heard of police officers covering "sectors," it would be kinda like that. The use of computer-aided dispatch really helps with deciding who goes to which call and which area or district a call is happening.

2. Dispatch would usually do everything in their powers not to completely empty a firehouse because of maintaining coverage of each district in case of more calls. Even without medical calls, departments can have more than 1 fire going on at the same time. That's when prior planning comes into play, where an engine from a different district will respond to a call as a second truck to a scene, and in some cases if a firehouse was emptied, trucks would be pulled from the area districts or towns to cover in case of more calls happening.