Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default MCC Student Question. . .

I apologize if this is the improper forum for these questions. I am a student a Mesa Community College. I'm considering pursuing a career in rescue work. Currently I am writing a report for an English class were I am researching Maricopa County emergency workers and procedures. I have a few questions that I hope someone can answer for me.

1- How does the dispatch know which firehouse engines to send to a particular incident? Is it location to the incident?

2- If more than one engine is required will the dispatch send engines from different houses, or multiple form the same firehouse?

3- Are engines required to have there sirens and lights on going to an incident (ie if the engine is the second one coming from a firehouse will both engines have sirens and lights on)?

4- Is a degree in Fire Science required to become a fire fighter?

Thank you for your help.

Student01

If you are specifically researching Maricopa County emergency services, I would suggest contacting them directly. If you stopped by their headquarters, or perhaps one of their stations, someone would be happy to answers all of your questions.

However, if you want input from other places... I'm happy to help.

1. Each fire company in my area has a set response district. That company will be sent to any calls that occur in that area if they are available. If they are busy, firefighters from the nearest response district are sent.

2. With a rare exception, stations in my area usually have only one staffed engine company. So, dispatch will have to send engines from different houses to calls that require more than one engine company.