Thread: Common Sense

Default Common Sense

I know I am preaching to the choir - but please listen:

What is wrong with the general public?? Are people really that stupid?

Do people not realize how deadly fire is until they are confronted by it firsthand?
    They block fire exits, move fire extinguishers, decorate in a manner that is deadly --

I used to think that people had common sense - that they could tell right from wrong.
    I have seen people do some downright dangerous things -- WHAT WERE THEY THINKING??

Maybe it is that we are in the fire service - and that we have a trained eye - and can see these things. How many of you walk into a building and begin to look for a secondary exit, fire extinguishers, see if the building is sprinklered, etc...
    I used to not do this - but have since about the second year I was a volunteer firefighter.

Ever go out to a public venue and tell yourself, "this place is an accident waiting to happen..." and you notice several code violations.

What is that the general public doesn't see??
    Do they "not care" - are they ignorant? Are we failing in our role of fire prevention?

...Confused...
    Marc

"In Omnia Paratus"

Member - IACOJ
    "Got Crust?"

-- The opinions presented here are my own; and are not those of any organization that I belong to, or work for.

Forum Member

In the days after the Station fire, Providence FD was getting 2-3 anonymous calls a night on the weekends from people reporting overcrowded clubs.

The last such call I know of was back in July/August.

Have the clubs stopped packing people in? Maybe.

Has the public stopped paying attention? Good possibility.

Forum Member

Ever go out to a public venue and tell yourself, "this place is an accident waiting to happen..." and you notice several code violations.