Forum Member

Default Fire Depts. with Less Than 30 Firefighters

Hi,

I'm a union firefighter in a city of over 100,000 people with a fire staff of about 200 firefighters and I am considering applying for a job in a city of 20,000 people with only 18 firefighters (4 to 6 per shift with no volunteers or POC). They run one engine and one BLS ambulance.

Can anyone out there who is on a smaller fire department give me some advantages and/or disadvantages of working on a small fire department? For instance, do you feel safe at calls? Do you feel over worked? Are you concerned with your opportunity for promotion? Anything else would be helpful as well.

Thanks in advance (PS, I'm going to post this on the general FF forum as well).

MembersZone Subscriber

I've worked in two small departments in the last ten plus years. Here's my take:

In one department I didn't feel safe due to understaffing. Mutual aid was 15+ minutes away.

My present dept. is somewhat larger (45 paid) so it's not as big an issue. We are quick to call in off-duty people at the first sign of a working fire. Which might also be a drawback if you don't like going in on your days off. We don't have that many fires (300 or so a year) so it's not a burden to me. I make as many calls as I can.

My pay is a little low compared to big-city departments, but so is my cost of living. Plus we have a great school system here.

I don't feel overworked at all. I'm usually looking for things to do during evening downtime - right now I'm updating our County disaster plan for the EM director.

On the other side of the coin, there can't be much specialization in a small department, so everyone gets to participate in apparatus maintenance, hydrant testing, inspections, fire prevention,etc. For me, the variety is a big plus.