Question Being a Volunteer and a Career Firefighter

How many of your firefighters who volunteer have been hurt volunteering and lost time on the career job do to that injury?? Now compare that to all the other injuries that happened while firefighters are on their free time. I would bet to say that more firefighters get hurt playing sports on their free time then fighting fires with a volunteer company. Anyone have any stats on this??

Just want to see how the IAFF or unions back up there rule in some departments that you cant be a volunteer because you might get hurt and not be able to work.

FFJerry2000

55 Years & Still Rolling
    Glenn Dale Md, Heart of the P.G. County Fire Belt....

Post Actually...........

I have been a Volunteer for 45 years. 24 of those years I worked as a Career Firefighter as well. I've never been off work because of an injury. In fact, I never used much sick leave either. There is one thing that applies here, and that is I LOVE THE FIRE/RESCUE SERVICE. Period. To remark on your choice of words, as a former member of the IAFF, I don't think the union gives a damn if you get hurt volunteering. The union's position is that if you are a union member, then you should not be a volunteer. Simple position, nothing vague in that. If anyone is a union member, and wants to volunteer, then quit the union. That's a simple position also. I should know, I did just that, many years ago. Would I do anything different today? No. I make my own decisions and go my own way, following my own beliefs. Stay Safe....
    Never use Force! Get a Bigger Hammer.
    In memory of
    Chief Earle W. Woods, 1912 - 1997
    Asst. Chief John R. Woods Sr. 1937 - 2006

IACOJ Budget Analyst

I Refuse to be a Spectator. If I come to the Game, I'm Playing.

www.gdvfd18.com

Default Hwoods