Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default those who need cisd

wish there were more willing to bare their souls and talk about what ails us old guys. nice to see that there are many who want to learn about cisd from a book, but it would be nice if those suffering could talk to each other. after 24 years on the line, it's time to shed the testosterone. had one of the worst nights yet.

I hear what you're saying....

I was never backward in calling in help after some nasty trauma jobs, but other than myself, very few took the opportunity to talk

On a side issue to this, there was a FF in another state of Australia who recently sued his service for around $750,000 for lack of CIS support after a number of years on the job...
    Luke

Default CISM

I have been a huge proponent of CISM from the time I entered the fire service. Not only am I a career firefighter, I am a clinical Social Worker and the mental health coordinator of my department's CISM team as well. I feel I am rather familiar with the issues of mental health and well being. It's been my experience that most of the time we don't need full blown CISM serivices, such as a defusing or debriefing. Sometimes just talking to one another is all that is needed. Many times what we feel is normal, albeit "crappy", will bother us for a couple of days, and then will go away. We sometimes forget while being firefighters are human, and yes, we do have feelings. Unfortunately, that testostorone facade can (is) a hindrance. It's nice to hear someone validate the same feelings we have, "yea, that call made me feel like crap". But, we know how often that really happens. I have a lot of salty veterans on my shift, many of whom have had a bad experience with CISM years ago after its mis-application. I have explained to them what it is I do, never jamming it down their throats, like in past experiences. That has broken down many of the barriers, and I have gained the respect of the