Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Fire degrees by distance.

I have an A.S. Degree in Fire Protection Technology and I was wondering if anyone has tried the BS Degrees by distance. I know some colleges have BS/BA degrees in fire protection diciplines that you can do totally by distance learning. The only Colleges I know of are Colorado State and University of Cincinati. Has anyone have any expierence with anything like this or have maybe a school they would recomend?
    Shawn Clark
    Firefighter/Paramedic
    Tulsa Fire Dept. E-23 "C Platoon"
    I.A.F.F. Local 176
    Tulsa, OK

MembersZone Subscriber

I finished my BS degree at Univ. of Maryland Inv. College. superchef is going there now. The place is user friendly. The instructors are good and the courses are top notch.

Check them out on www.umuc.edu.

National Fire Academt DDP
    http://www.usfa.fema.gov/fire-servic.../nfa-high.shtm

Thanks alot George. I will look into it. Is your Degree just like if you were to go to classes on campus?
    Shawn Clark
    Firefighter/Paramedic
    Tulsa Fire Dept. E-23 "C Platoon"
    I.A.F.F. Local 176
    Tulsa, OK

MembersZone Subscriber

Yeah. UMUC is accredited by the same agency that accredits on-campus programs.

There is a certain logic that says off-campus students may be more motivated and put more into the class (and subsequently get mroe out of the class) because they are working independently. Make no mistake about it. DDP takes self-discipline and time. It is not a cake walk. My lab science was Meteorology. I thought it was akin to basket weaving. It was the hardest course I ever took-on or off campus. I was up until the wee hours several nights a week to get the lab work done.

MembersZone Subscriber ullrichk's Avatar

There are several colleges and universities offering the Degrees at a Distance program. Go to the USFA website for more information. I believe they are divided up by geographical region.