Default Block Heaters for diesel apparatus

Our department has 5 large apparatus that all run Cummins engines. Two have block heaters. The Other 3 do not. I have recommended to the chief that we purchase and install either block or oil heaters. I have tried to explain the benefits to him, but he says until a mechanic of fire apparatus tells him they are necessary, he will not budge. Although I am not a certified mechanic, I have been around diesels most of my life and feel the benefits outweigh any other issues. As head of support services I would like some "professional opinions on this. Thanks.

Forum Member

Default Block heaters

Being a mechanic on fire equipment for 20 years, my thoughts are run block heaters. The facts are like this. In your personal vehicle you start the engine and allow it to warm up before taking off on your drive. Now if you live where it gets below 50 at night or day and have bays that are not heated, having an added aid to warm the engine is a benefit. Does your chief take his pov when it has been sitting for 2 days or 2 hours start it and drive balls to the walls for 4-5 min slam on the brakes and then let it idle for 30 min? Then race back to the station and shut down the unit without allowing it to idle before shutdown? Probaly not. If you have a preheated engine either oil or water, the shock on the inital startup from sitting cold is not as harsh as not having it warmed. I live in the Phoenix valley where in the summer temps reach 115 and above and the lows drop to the 30s at night. I know of several depts that run block heaters year round for the simple reason that it does aid in the life of the engine and fluids able to lubricate. I hope that this helps if you need more info let me know Jeff

Forum Member

Since most block heaters only heat the engine to 50-80 degrees you don't need one if you keep the truck in a warm barn. Our station runs right about 65F so we don't need heaters.