Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Sirens / Audible Warning Devices

Hi Guys,

My brigade (dept) is currently looking at different types of audible warning devices for our appliances. In the last five years or so this country is tending to slide towards electronic sirens (wailers)and bull horns. What do you guys think? Any recommendations? We use at the minute air-operated two tone horns which as a driver I like, but I do also like the impressive bull horn which came from you guys!

Ideas / Suggestions If you would gents.

Andy
    Merseyside, United Kingdom

MembersZone Subscriber

Not sure if your "appliances" have a 12 volt electrical system or not.

If so, a popular combination (especially in PA/MD/DC) is a mechanical Federal Q and an electronic Powercall.

This combination seems to complement each other well. I'm sure it would definitely get attention over there where it's not common.

Click on Squad 1 on this page to hear what it sounds like: http://www.dcfd.com/runclips.htm

I haven't heard one yet but I am told the newer electronic Q sounds very similar to the mechanical one and doesn't require nearly as much juice.

There's only one...
    Attached Images Attached Images  

55 Years & Still Rolling hwoods's Avatar
    Glenn Dale Md, Heart of the P.G. County Fire Belt....

Talking Air Horns......................... .......

Nothing gets attention like Air Horns. I've long been a fan of the Grover 1501 Stuttertone, which, over the years, probably graced the cabs of more of America's fire apparatus than any other. My personal favorite is the Nathan 5 Chime Locomotive Horn. That sucker clears traffic like nothing else. On sirens, I've seen and heard most of them, and I like the OLD powercall, but NOT the "yelp" tone, rather the "wail" tone that sounds like a 1920s era hand crank siren.
    Never use Force! Get a Bigger Hammer.
    In memory of
    Chief Earle W. Woods, 1912 - 1997
    Asst. Chief John R. Woods Sr. 1937 - 2006