Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Question Help for an overseas brother!

I am a UK firefighter of 6 years experience & will hopefully be relocating to the states soon. I would love to be able to continue my career but I realise this won't be easy. I don't really know how your system works ( qualified, not qualified etc) or how/if I would be able to transfer my skills. Can anyone help with any info, websites, advice or anything that may be of help. many thanks

It really depends on where you will be living. For the most part, each state sets their own requirements.

For Alabama, the minimum requirements are set by the Alabama Fire College . Some departments require more, but they set the baseline standard.

Any idea where you'll be?
    Last edited by EFD840; 12-30-2003 at 04:55 PM.

Thanks for the reply , looks like Florida but really wherever the opportunities look best

MembersZone Subscriber sconfire's Avatar

I have posted on this subject before. Here is my answer from the previous thread on this matter.
    There are only 3 ways to get a job in the United States if you have citizenship in another country.

1.) One of your parents, son or daughter must be American. We have 2 brothers in my department from Scotland and their father is a former US Navy Sailor.

2.) You must be married to an American. We have 1 fellow from South Wales Fire Brigade that was hired because he was married to an American girl from Alabama.

3.) The person and department in which they wish to apply must prove that there are no other qualified applicants for the position in which they are applying. This must first go to the Labor Department for a waiver and then to INS for approval.