MembersZone Subscriber

Question Medical Military Discharge/Chances in fire service???

I know a lot of people here are or were prior military, so I'm hoping that maybe someone will be able to help me out! Right now I'm stationed at Elmendorf AFB, AK. I've been having trouble breathing for the last 4 months or so, its off and on. I went to a Dr. and he automatically started talking about asthma. I have never had asthma in my life, I was a paid/on-call firefighter before I joined the Air Force, and never had any trouble. So what I'm wondering is if I get seperated for having asthma, and I get medically cleared when I get out will that effect my chances of getting on a Dept?? I've heard of a lot of people getting misdiagnosed in the military with asthma. Especially in the Air Force! Just thought I would try to get any info that I could. Because when I get out I am planning on going back into the fire serice. Thanks a lot!!

Forum Member

Most Cities and Fire Departments will not even entertain the idea of taking on a person with health problems. You probably could not pass the medical physical that the cities give. It must meet the standards of NFPA and the city and department would not wave the PFT to hire someone.

Each member anually has to pass the PFT and face piece test. If not they are put on medical leave and must see their own doctor and get medical attention.

MembersZone Subscriber

Default PFT results