Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber

Question Medical Military Discharge/Chances in fire service???

I know a lot of people here are or were prior military, so I'm hoping that maybe someone will be able to help me out! Right now I'm stationed at Elmendorf AFB, AK. I've been having trouble breathing for the last 4 months or so, its off and on. I went to a Dr. and he automatically started talking about asthma. I have never had asthma in my life, I was a paid/on-call firefighter before I joined the Air Force, and never had any trouble. So what I'm wondering is if I get seperated for having asthma, and I get medically cleared when I get out will that effect my chances of getting on a Dept?? I've heard of a lot of people getting misdiagnosed in the military with asthma. Especially in the Air Force! Just thought I would try to get any info that I could. Because when I get out I am planning on going back into the fire serice. Thanks a lot!!

MembersZone Subscriber

Talking

I guess it would depend on where you apply, We just took on a new recruit who has Asthma, but there are some depts that have different standards, I suppose it would also depend on how badly the Asthma(if indeed thats what it is) affects you. I wish you luck.

MembersZone Subscriber

Thanks a lot! I'm like 99% sure that I dont have asthma, but the military Drs are really pusing for that. But I guess if its just something up here then I'll be able to pass a PFT for any dept. I took a PFT up here almost 2 weeks ago, and I'm going in to see results early next week. Hopefully that will help out with something. But thats still encouraging that your dept. took on someone with asthma! If you dont mind me asking, where is that dept?? Well thanks again!!
    "If you can keep your head while all about you are losing theirs"