MembersZone Subscriber

Question Military experience

How much does military experience really help you getting on a dept? Before I joined the military I was on a paid/on-call dept. and I tried to get into firefighting in the military but that that didnt work out. I'm currently in the Air Force active duty. I'm an aircrew egress tech. Work on ejection seats. I'm wondering how much just regular military helps when trying to get hired on a dept. Eventhough I'm not doing any firefighting at this time. I'm planning on taking some classes, and trying to get certs like EMT and such. I already have FF1, and a few others. Just any info would help out! Thanks a lot!
    Last edited by twhite00; 02-06-2004 at 11:41 AM.
    "If you can keep your head while all about you are losing theirs"

Forum Member

Well, I don't see where being in the military, in and of itself will really help you actually get in. However, all civil Dept's in Texas, and I assume everywhere else, give applicants and additional 5 points on the entrance test if they have military service. You will have to show your DD214 at either at the test, or at some point, and the 5 points will be added to your score. Having a clean military record may help in you in ways not seen.. for instance the people who are reviewing your application may take into account that you were in the military and din't get into any trouble etc.. that may help. But, in most large dept's here... even being a firefighter in another city won't help you "get in". You're going to have to that part on your own... being a FF or military may only help sway someones opinion later on in the process. Hope this helps.
    http://www.sanantoniofire.org

IACOJ
    Got Crust?

We lucky few, ... we band of brothers

Disillusioned Subscriber

Ohio adds 20% of your passing score for military service with an honorable discharge.
    Steve Gallagher
    IACOJ BOT
    ----------------------------