Default training questions

ok i have a question for yall.....i am a rookie charged with the task of doing a 1 1/2 to 2 hour training course on hose at my volunteer dept.....what would yall recommend for that course....i was thinking maybe a wild hose drill and hose lays
    Find 'Em Hot...Leave 'Em Wet

Forum Member

I think a wild hose is just asking for trouble, even in the drillyard. Certainly caution against improper handling of this situation, but I don't know if it's the kind of thing you want to try.

Hoselays are good. How about drilling folks on dressing a hydrant? What about doing it for time? Pull out a hydrant bag, have a 10 foot section of hose with some gates & a practice hydrant (if you have one, or a real one) to do exactly as we would on a fireground.

I'll add any other thoughts I have in the future!
    ~Kevin
    Firefighter/Paramedic
    --^v--^v--^v--^v--
    Of course, that's just my opinion. I could be wrong
    Dennis Miller

MembersZone Subscriber

I like to roll 4 sections of 1 3/4" with a nozzel, place it on the ground and have a group of four FF's in a timed drill lay it all out and connect to a pumper and flow water (knocking down a target).

Take 3 (50') sections of 2 1/2 with a deck gun on one end, and the other connected to a pumper. The middle section should have a hole cut into it to show a busted section and have the pump operator charge it at 50 psi. On the order your 4 man team has to take 2 rolled up section of 2 1/2" and replace the bad section. They must clamp the hose, disconnect the bad section and replace it with the 2 sections of 2 1/2", then unclamp the hose and knock the target down. 1 man must remain on the clamp and 1 man must remain on the deck gun. This is alot of fun and builds confindence in the crew that this task can be completed on the fire ground (but not as fast).

Good luck
    Last edited by captjab; 02-10-2004 at 12:44 PM.

MembersZone Subscriber

Post Engine work!