Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Question Florida State FF certification

I am a Career Firefighter from Massachusetts. I plan on moving to Florida and would like to continue my career there. Could anyone provide me with some information regarding the Challange/Certification process. I have all of the requirements needed. I am surprised there isnt any reciprocity of any kind. Any and all info would be great. Thanks

MembersZone Subscriber

You can convert your Certs to DOD and come work for us. We are currently hireing GS-5 Firefighters. Just make sure your certs are IFSAC or can be converted over to that.

Starting pay is around 35K to start. You work 24 on and 24 off. If your application is accepted you will have to take our agility test, nothing really to it. There is an age cuttoff (37). They just raised the age and retirement.

We are the test facility for the DOD SouthEast region.

email me if you need any further infomation.

Default challenge information

pffmems1

Go to the Florida Fire College website www.fsfc.ufl.edu and click on the Standards sections. Or call there 352-369-2800 and talk to the Standards section for information on what you will need to challenge the test.

Florida does not accept reciprocity from anywhere. You will have to take the written and practical exams for State Certification.

Also if you are looking into EMS, Florida does not accept National Registry at this time. You may want to contact the Florida Professional Firefighters Association and talk to the Vice-President Gary Rainey about how to become Florida certified.

Hope this helps.....

Good Luck

MembersZone Subscriber

But if you were on a Military base in Florida, and you took your initial course there for the National Registry then you pay the Florida State fee of something like $75 and challenge the State EMT exam.