Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Concrete spalling and rain?

Would rain or melting snow etc. provide enough moisture inside a concrete foundation causeing it to have a better chance of spalling during a fire?
    Last edited by stm4710; 02-21-2004 at 01:26 AM.
    I dont suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.

MembersZone Subscriber

what is " spawling " ?

Sorry my mistake........its spalling.

Default Hmmm...

I am NOT an expert on this, but this is my
    understanding. Spalding is when moisture
    inside hardened concrete is superheated
    and rises up "marking" or scarring" the
    surface of the concrete.

So, with that in mind, I would guess-
    "No, rain or snow wouldnt have an
    effect.

I could be wrong on this. I am just
    guessing with the knowledge I have.

Moisture that is locked in pocket can produce a small BLEVE and break the concrete. This can happen also when water gets inside and freezes.

Air pockets can have the same effect but are not as common and usually occur on new pours not older structures.

Originally posted by firedawg803
    what is " spawling " ?
    Spawling: common misspawling of words is often seen here
    To the world you might be one person, but to one person you just might be the world.

IACOJ-WOT proud

GO WHITE SOX!!!!!

MembersZone Subscriber mcaldwell's Avatar

Again this is pure conjecture, but concrete can absorb a considerable amount of water and will pull water significant distances if given the opportunity (this is largely why you put tar and plastic around a basement foundation).

With that in mind, I think it is reasonable to conclude that in a wet environment, spontaneous spalling would increase when the concrete is exposed to fire. By how much, I couldn't tell you.