Exclamation UK FF needs your help: Attacks On Firefighters

I am a UK firefighter and I have just secured funding to conduct an international study on attacks on firefighters during the course of their duty. It is funding that I had to fight hard to get. This is a rapidly increasing problem for our brothers and sisters in the UK. I, myself, have endured being stoned, spat at, and had LPG cylinders left in car fire's as a bomb for my crew and I. Recentley in Scotland a firefighter was shot in the head with an air gun en route to a fire, and in Ireland a firefighter was stabbed at a car fire. So as you see, the fire is not our only enemy anymore.

I have already travelled to Israel for the first leg of my research. Later in the year I will be spending 2 weeks in South Afica, then 6 weeks in North America. Provisionally I am hoping to travel to Chicago, San Fransisco and New York. Can anyone highlight any areas where attacks are prevailant or has anyone experienced attacks on duty? Any information or contacts that you can offer would be greatly appreciated as this pproject is still in its infancy.

Kind Regards and Many Thanks
    Sab

MembersZone Subscriber

Sab,

Please contact me via my email at editor@sc.rr.com

I will help you all I can.
    Always remember the CHARLESTON 9

Captain Grant Mishoe, Curator of History
    North Charleston and American LaFrance Fire Museum
    "You'll never know where you're going until you remember where you came from"
    www.legacyofheroes.org
    www.firehistory.org
    www.sconfire.com

Thank you Sconfire, that is greatley appreciated. I tried to e-mail and it was returned with an error message. Can you contact me on sabrina@risca999.fsnet.co.uk

Kind Regards
    Sab

MembersZone Subscriber

Sab,
    I wrote an article on this in the memberzone of Firehouse.com

UK Firefighter attacks

I have e-mailed you with reference this.
    Last edited by SteveDude; 02-28-2004 at 04:57 PM.
    Steve Dude
    IACOJ member