Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Question Grant Writers Fees

Need a little guidance from some experienced peer reviewers or funded departments utilizing the services of a professional grant writer, if possible.

I am a grant writer who normally writes grants based on a percentage and contingent on the grant getting funded. I have always found that I work better for the client when I don't get paid if they don't get the money. With the fire grants, I must get paid a set fee, regardless of funding.

Can some of you give me some guidance on what you believe to be a fair hourly rate, and the number of hours you think it will take to complete the 2004 application? Any things for me to consider in quoting a price to a department?

For information purposes, I mainly work with very small departments in rural areas.

Thank for any help.

Rod Hinds

Forum Member

Rod:

I was a peer review panelist in 2003 and reviewed a lot of applications completed by grant writers, paid by the applying department. We saw only the bottom line fee they were charged and do not know what the hourly rate was or how the fee was established. For the most part, fees ran from as little as $250.00 to as high as $5,000.00! In several of my reviewer comments, I wrote that the grant writer did such a dis-service to the applicant that they should demand their money back. They were poorly worded, spoke with little knowledge and had no real desire to express the interest of the department.

I have made my point quite clear here before, the cost for a grant writer is too expensive if they do not provide a service for the applicant. Too many times the grant writer had no idea of the fire service and the applying departments let the application go through. I saw applications that went into way too much detail on how a thermal-imaging camera works and said little on why the department needed one.