MembersZone Subscriber

Default Rescue system 1 - basic heavy rescue - how basic?

I am very interested in attending Rescue System 1 but I am new to the fire service but not to rescue work (rope work. Technical rescues, I will explain later). I canít seem to find a good description other than the standard description from the State Fire Marshall literature. I would like to know (opinions, please) if my background (pre-fire and the months leading up to the class will be efficient building blocks for such a course).
    To start with I have a background of 11 years of rock climbing (sport, traditional, alpine, waterfall ice, bouldering and some ski mountaineering) most years I climbed between 50 and 75 days a year. I spent 3 and a half years with the Yosemite Search and Rescue Team- YOSAR- paid not volunteer. During my time there I attended the standard 40-hour low and high angle course, the usual yearly training and the training high light attending Rigging for Rescue. I took part in more than a few El Capitan Rescues and one Half Dome plus a untold number of low angle and smaller high angle rescues. By the end of my time there I had worked somewhere between 75 and 100 rescues (not all technical mind you). If you are unfamiliar with YOSAR the office generally coordinates 200 SARS a year.
    Like I said I am new to the Fire Service about six months in right now, I am a paramedic so I have spent the last 3-years working private EMS. The Rescue Systems 1 course is about 6 months away. During the next six months I am attending Trench Rescue, a low angle course (a decent review and better introduction to NFPA safety standards) and Confined Space Operations. My college background was in Mechanical Engineering before leaving school to be a traveling climbing/ skier.