MembersZone Subscriber

Default class at Reynoldsburg

Hi guys, I'm new to the firehouse website and this forum, but it seems like a great place for information on jobs, and occupation in the fire service field. I'm leaving active duty in the coast guard at the end of this month and I enrolled in the fire fighter 1 and 2 class at the Reynoldsburg academy starting April 5th and I was just wondering if anyone else here went to that school, and what they thought of it? Thanks Jeremy

MembersZone Subscriber

Jeremy,

Are you referring to the State Fire School??? And what department is sponsoring you??? I have been thier(OSFA)it was greaat...I learned alot and had asome fun too.
    AKA: Mr. Whoo-Whoo

IAFF Local 3900

IACOJ-The Crusty Glow Worm

ENGINE 302 - The Fire Rats

F.A.N.T.A.M FOOLS FTM-PTB

MembersZone Subscriber

yes, It's the state fire school, and im not sponsored by a full time department. Im going to the school on my own to help me in getting hired at a full time department. Im just going there to give myself a curve in the job application process. Im also considering going to the EMT basic class there too after the Firefighter 1 and 2 class.

Forum Member

Welcome to Firehouse, Jeremy. Glad to have ya here. My utmost respect & admiration for serving our country (I tried but history of asthma blackballed me). Do you have hopes of where to work eventually? Have you done time with volunteer or call departments before now? If not, it might be a good place to get started, using some of the class skills & learning some OJT stuff. Besides, it's always nice to have an interview with the idea that you've "seen" a fire truck or been in real fire! Best of luck, and be sure to join in all the fun here.
    ~Kevin
    Firefighter/Paramedic
    --^v--^v--^v--^v--
    Of course, that's just my opinion. I could be wrong
    Dennis Miller

MembersZone Subscriber

Jeremy,