Forum Member

Exclamation What is the salary of a career firefighter/paramedic on average?

I am a volunteer firefighter, and i am looking at becoming a career firefighter. I was wondering if anyone could give me an idea as too much you make starting. Thanks!

Forum Member

You are going to get a lot of different responses on this one based on location in the country, different pay scales for different positions, etc. One suggestion would be to do a search on firehouse.com for the last run survey they did and check the salaries there.

Otherwise, I am a 3 1/2 yr. FF/PM in the upper midwest and I am in the $45,000/yr. range for base salary.

Forum Member

Sioux Falls starts a FF/EMT at 32,000 tops out at around $45,000. Rochester, MN starts at $38,000 (according to their web site). St. Paul, MN starts around $40,000.

What my my college in the midwest stated is correct that salary is contingent on area. The south usually is lower, CA usually pays the highest.

Paramedics usually make a little more.

Often, however, the listed salary is complimented by monitary benefits that are not listed such as holiday pay, longevity pay, etc.

Forum Member

As a F.F./EMT Just recently hired {Last July} - I'm still in my beginning salary phases. I work in Northern Delaware {New Castle County} - where career members work for the independent volunteer fire companies - Each fire company sets the pay/benifits for their career staff but all with in close numbers. - For example I started at $30,500.00yr. with annual increses, State Pension after 25 years and full paid benifits. - We're Non-Union so if we're not satisfied there is really no one to complain to but the company I work for treats us {5 Career Members} very well and respects our opinions

Over-All I'd say if you want to make alot of money don't go into the fire/ems service - Do it because you want to. You will not get rich in this job

Default Firehouse Magazine