Thread: moving to TN

Default moving to TN

hi...My name is Jenn and I am a firefighter in NH right now and I am hoping to move to TN...I am looking for a department that is willing to hire a female firefighter....any suggestions??

MembersZone Subscriber

Which part of the state?
    ullrichk
    a.k.a.
    perfesser

a ship in a harbor is safe. . . but that's not what ships are for

I am looking to relocate somewhere near McMinnville...or around that area...if you have any suggestions it would be greatly appreciated...seems that some departments there do not like female firefighters...but I can hold my own
    ~~Jenni~~

MembersZone Subscriber

Sorry, can't help you there, geographically speaking. I'm in the upper left hand corner and know of one or two departments that should be hiring soon (mine included), both of which have female firefighters.

Female firefighters are still uncommon in career departments around here (like they're common anywhere ) but they are becoming more accepted in the volunteer ranks. I think the career departments here are slow to change because of low turnover and good ole' boy hiring practices more than outright discrimination.

Good luck in your search. Let me know how it goes.
    ullrichk
    a.k.a.
    perfesser

a ship in a harbor is safe. . . but that's not what ships are for

McMinnville is right in the middle of the state.... I have talked to Murfreesboro and they are not hiring until June and they seemed more then happy to take on a female fireifghter. I have all the qualifications needed and I can hold my own...So if ya hear of n e thing let me know... feel free to email me.... jennijbutler@msn.com
    ~~Jenni~~

Forum Member

Good Luck. Nashville may be taking applications. I am not real sure.

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Re: moving to TN

Jenn,