Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Fire Academy Questions?

Hello,

I've been working in a warehouse since I graduated High School in 97, I'm 25 now and want a change. I've always been interestd in firefighting so that is what I've been looking into.

I live in Dallas and I recently found a Fire Academy that trains people to be a firefighter. It's not associated with any department, it says they give you the necessary training to pass the Texas Commision on Fire Protection cetification.

Has anyone gone this route and then been hired by a department? It's alot of money so I don't want to go through it and then not be able to get a job anywhere.

If you have any more specific questions I can try to answer them, to help with any advice.

Thanks,

CL Timmons

Forum Member

Default Fire Academy

My first question would be are there any volunteer departments around you? If so that is the route that i would go for right now. If you go the volly way you will be able to get the training at a lessor cost and get some expirience of firefighting. Once you get the training you will be able to probably take the test for the department and if you do well you will be able to take the physical test and if you pass that more than likely they will put you through their academy.

C Fisher
    FIrefighter / EMT

I live right in the middle of the DFW area, so I'm not sure of any volunteer departments. Will any department just take volunteers? Maybe out in the more rural areas, but I would think they would want you to live close by.

MembersZone Subscriber