Default hi i've got a ? about becoming a firefigher

Hi, I am 19 years old and currently attending Western Illinois University. My question is have been seriously considering a career in firefighting but i dont really know the first step to becoming one. There are no classes here i can take that are firefighting related. what should i do? should i stay in school and graduate studying stuff i am really not interested in and get a degree that wont really help me get a firefighting job, should i trasnfer to a community college where i live that has fire sciences classes that i could take, or should i go to paramedic school. Any other suggestions or adive would be very helpful.

MembersZone Subscriber

Interesting question you bring up. First off, I am a college student graduating in two weeks and applying to fire departments all along the East Coast. If you really have no interest in any of the majors at your current school, then yes transfer. It does not necessarily have to be for a fire science program though. I am graduating with a business degree. A lot of departments just want to see that you had the drive to finish up school or however you would like to see that. Any degree is better than no degree in most instances. If you have a strong desire to be a medic, then yes go get your medic and you'll get a job much quicker than most of anyone else applying for firefighter/emt positions. If medic school is what you really want, transfer and go for it. If not, then you'll have to seriously consider what you want to study. Again though, it does not have to be something directly related to the fire service. Good luck. Remember, I am just 21, so I'm sure some more experienced members on here will be able to help you out a little more, but from what I've gone through I think this will help you out a lot. Good luck.

MembersZone Subscriber