MembersZone Subscriber

Talking Very Very new to all this

Hey everyone,
    I am a 31 year old Student that is about to graduate as a Microsoft Network Engineer. The funny thing is now I want to get in to the fire fighter field. I was in the Army for almost ten years and I miss the challenges that I had everyday and I think that this is what I need to do instead of working with computers.

After reading some threads on here I have learned a lot but, I do have a few questions on where I should start. Just a side note here I was also NBC and Hazmat qualified in the Army and would like to get in to the Hazmat side of things. Can you be a fire fighter and Hazmat qualified and not have your EMT? If so would that hurt your career later on? If there is any advice that you may have on what I need to do to accomplish this goal please feel free to write me.

Thank you,
    Smalls
    Last edited by Smalls; 04-30-2004 at 05:16 PM.

Forum Member

Hello and welcome to the Firehouse Forums.
    NEVER FORGET!
    9/11/01

Forum Member

Welcome to our Humble Abode...I'm sure you'll love it as much as we do..
    If someone with multiple personalities threatens to kill himself, is it considered a hostage situation?

Ryan

Forum Member

Welcome. We are all here for the good of the fire service.

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Cant resist...

You're Killin' me Smalls !

seriously however, I too am in my early 30's and realizing what I would like to do. The large city I live in wont hire anyone over 30 , but there are smaller departments around. The larger departments have a better chance of having a Haz-Mat specific response team, but I imagine any department would welcome your experience, and you can always obtain your EMT within a few months (or quicker).

What ever you decide , good luck and Welcome !

MembersZone Subscriber

Thank you all for the greet welcome and information. I am going to like it here.
    Last edited by Smalls; 06-04-2004 at 12:10 PM.

MembersZone Subscriber