Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Hobart, Indiana

MembersZone Subscriber fieldseng2's Avatar

Default Hobart, Indiana

We are in desperate need of people with a fire service background.

We have hired a lot of people who were working transfer service only, then right into emergency EMS who were and still are apprehensive about fighting fire. Because of staffing if you are riding the meatwagon you are gonna be one of the guys going inside or on the roof.

The only stipulation is you have to be a paramedic or in medic school to apply and be in the local system no later than 120 days after appointment.

http://www.city.hobart.in.us/Fire%20...me%20Pages.htm

http://www.city.hobart.in.us/Fire%20...me%20Pages.htm

MembersZone Subscriber

fieldseng2-
    I am currently a paramedic with Tri-Creek EMS in nearby Lowell and have 8 years of volunteer service (6 with Lake Dale/2 with Lowell). I have been considering the move to a career dept however I have heard some different things through the grapevine that aren't always positive about Hobart. I guess staffing concerns and getting stuck on the ambulance forever are the two biggest worries. I know a few guys up there (one a medic, the other a FF/EMT) and they say there are pros and cons just like everywhere else. I took Hobart's test in '98 and was wondering if it has changed much. I placed in the middle of that list 6 years ago and never received a call probably due to the fact that I was just an EMT then. I have been a medic now for 4-1/2 years. Oh and one more concern is getting into the Methodist system coming from St. Anthony's system, I have heard some horror stories about that also. Still trying to make up my mind, just thought I would get your opinion. Thanks

MembersZone Subscriber fieldseng2's Avatar

First off let me say we do have some hard working, dedicated, but frustrated group of excellent firefighters and paramedics.