Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Tanker Operations .. Is Bigger or Smaller Better ?

Here is a question for the more rural posters here....

Do you run larger (2000 gallons plus) or smaller tankers (1000-1500 gallons)???

The reason I ask is I have been a firefighter in the Northeast for 24 of my first 25 years in the fire service and the departments I have been on have always opted for smaller, short wheel based, faster tankers with capicities of between 1000 and 1500 gallons. Down here in Louisiana where I have been for the past year the trend seems to be largewr tankers (very few nurse) with capicities ranging from 2500 gallons to 7000 gallons (tractor-trailers). From what I have seen I still prefer the idea of more smaller tankers in a shuttle rather than fewer, larger tankers primarily because of thier maneverablity at fill and dump sites.
    Just looking for some thoughts on the subject.

We have a 1200 Gallon and 1500 Gallon..They work perfect for us...Like you said they are faster and are easier to get into places with..I know of a dept near me with a 3800 Gallon Tanker...Take for instance our call back in the woods yesterday..Our two tankers got in their easy..The 3800 gallon one may have had some difficulty making some of the turns back there..
    If someone with multiple personalities threatens to kill himself, is it considered a hostage situation?

Ryan

MembersZone Subscriber SamsonFCDES's Avatar

Um... all large Tankers have been grounded indefinatly...

See this thread...

http://cms.firehouse.com/forums2/sho...threadid=59774

But with Tenders we have a mix. In our area if you called for a 3000 gallon Tanker you would have gotten a flying one...unit now.

There are:

2500 Single Axle
    4500 Tandem
    6000 Tractor trailer

Gallon Tenders in our area. They all seem to work fine.