Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Remote Staging Area???

Last night my company responded to factory fire on the third alarm. It went to a fifth alarm. When we got to the scene the boss checked in at the command post and we waited for instructions. Our boss came to us and said we were to go to a staging area (romote from the fire building, 200x200 fyi). When we got to the "staging area" there was no one there. Thats not what got me a little bent but, the fact that the "staging area" was so far down the block that the fire building was totaly out of view. I don't think this makes sense being that conditions at a fire scene are always changing and I would have to do another initial size up, plus if we were needed right away we would have to go pretty far to get back to the scene. Now I'm just a firefighter but this really didn't make much sense. FYI we weren't in the collapse zone before being moved, we were not freelancing, and actually when we were moved the wind was blowing most of the smoke in that direction. Eventually a Chief and a few other companies also made it to the "staging area". What do you think?

I've been at secondary staging locations a mile from a scene.

Not that unusual, and often a pretty good tactic.

Think of this scenario: While the Chief is trying to determine where he most needs you as you sit behind the command post, and you're looking at the building doing your own continuing size-up, a 5" line gets laid behind you blocking you in. Chief tells you to go to the other side...and your answer is, um, we can't, we've been blocked in.

A "typical" if there is such a thing Mill fire in my area will see:
    1st & 2nd alarm companies usually go right into the scene
    3rd & 4th alarm companies get a secondary staging location while enroute...but often will be directed through them by radio right a primary staging location where they get orders from a sector operations officer and/or sector staging officer