Thread: my dept policy

Forum Member

Default my dept policy

i am a member of cameron rural fire dept in cameron north carolina i have been a firefighter for almost 6 months and have almost completed my fire fighter 1&2 certification and i am working on my ERT cert. about a week ago we had a new member join and we didn't have a pager to give him. mine was taken and givein to another junior member with about a month of service and no training what so ever. we i asked my LT about this he stated that it was becuase the other junior member was older. is this a good policy and if not what do i do to try to get it changed

HNFC FF/President

because he was older? Jesus, that sounds funny. You have more training and could be more useful at calls. You should be the one with the pager. The only way a pager gets taken from a jr in my department is if it's going to a FF that is cert.

Sounds like you got the short end of the stick here.
    Firefighter, Volunteering since Oct 2001

CCFA 05-04, best overall class for 2005
    "GOOD GAME!"

Forum Member

Yeah you got screwed my friend

That is absolutely ridiculous...Why give a complete newbie a pager because he's older..Stupid...Your usefull on a fire scene,He's useless...Doesn't make sense
    If someone with multiple personalities threatens to kill himself, is it considered a hostage situation?

Ryan

Forum Member

Age should have no factor in the process of deciding which jr., explorer, shall be in access to a pager.

The fact of the matter is the necessity for a pager should be solely warranted by ones usefulness on a fires scene. And being that you have a lot more certifications and training then this new junior, you should have the pager.