Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default Taskbook assistance

I'm a structural firefighter in Maine, and also a member of a wildland crew that works with the State Forest Service. Our wildland team interacts and trains with not only the Maine Forest Service, but also US Fish and Wildlife and National Park Service. Myself and other members of our team take NWCG courses, such as S212, S131, S200 and others. Since none of us work with any of the state or federal agencies we are told that they cant certify our taskbooks. My question is if there is any way for us to complete and sign off on our taskbooks without having it done on a western wildland fire. Is it possible and what would it take for it to be accomplished through our own structural fire depts.

Sr. Information Officer NJFFSA16's Avatar

It's the old "Catch 22" deja vu, all over again. Similar to the words heard at job interviews....when the applicant is told..." you don't have any experience." And you of course....wonder how to get experience, if no one will hire you.

I'm afraid I don't have an answer for you, but must say I've heard similar complaints. I also would be interested in hearing suggestions from our wildland members. Have you questioned your Maine Forest Service senior staff regarding the dilemma?

NJ
    Proudly serving as the IACOJ Minister of Information & Propoganda!
    Be Safe! Lookouts-Awareness-Communications-Escape Routes-Safety Zones

*Gathering Crust Since 1968*
    On the web at www.section2wildfire.com