Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Mayday sog's

Default Mayday sog's

We are working on mayday sog's, finally. I would enjoy your input on developing ours.
    Each member is issued a portable radio with an emergency button, the officers radio's have a read out screen telling them who is transmitting. All fire ground opps are done on a talk around, non repeated channel. If our emergency button is activated on our fire ground channel the officers nor dispatch receive the alarm or a read out on their screen that a button has been activated. Do we need to be using a repeated channel so dispatch receives an alarm? Or are we okay to call a mayday (using L.U.N.A.R.) on fire ground and have all officers receive a read out of who is calling a mayday?

What is your opinion of activating your P.A.S.S. device during a mayday if you are radio equipped? Are we better off having a quiet environment to communicate?

If I am an officer on the second floor and my radio alerts me to a FF down by showing FF#12 is in Mayday....do I know where FF#12 is? Should all officers then stop what they are doing and go assist the down FF? Or is it more important that the IC knows and can check with the accountability officer to know where the FF is (was/should have been)? Personally, I don't think it is all that important for the identifying to be active for all officers to see. You may also want to consider a second operating channel so the rest of your fireground communications can continue and not interfere with the Mayday. A guy gives a mayday, you want to give him every chance of communication, but there may also be other things that others need to communicate. 2 channels would be a help, for example when a mayday is issued all other radios switch channels. Leave that channel open for the downed FF and RIT/FAST/etc.