Q. I have been a volunteer firefighter for 3 years now. I only began seeking employment as a career firefighter 1 year ago so that I could finish my Bachelor's Degree.**I have never had any problem passing written and physical exams, but am getting eliminated after oral boards.**I am at a loss of what to do here. I feel that when I walk into the room, I am well prepared for my interview.

Just recently though, I was thrown for a loop by a new oral board question I had never heard before.**It was a series of question but I only had 30 seconds to respond. After that, I was cut off and read the next question. These questions ranged from how do you feel about working for a female lieutenant, to tell us what you know about our department. I fear that I lost points here because I could not get everything I knew out of my mouth in 30 seconds.**I have studied
everything about the departments that I am interviewing with, yet still seem to fall short to get called back for further testing. Can anyone give me some advice on what I need to do to improve myself in this area? I would really appreciate it,

A. Youíre not alone here.**Many tell me they fell like they have hit a wall and donít know what to do next.

This from oral board rater David White
Fire Captain/EMS Coordinator
Culver City Fire Department

I have sat as a rater on many many oral boards.**Sometimes a candidate will have good answers but the answers don't seem to be sincere.**What I mean is that the answers don't seem to fit the candidate.**Raters will hear the same canned answers over and over again.**Sincerity (your words and feelings) is a dimension that though hard to quantify definitely comes into play when evaluated.**Do your answers jive with your demeanor and application/resume?