MembersZone Subscriber

Default burning out on effort

This is my first time on this forum so pardon me for whining. I have all the qualifications needed for a fire medic. I am failing miserably on my tests, oral boards, and had a bad driving record 6 six years ago.

I felt like giving up last week. I did average on a written, thought i smoked the oral, and still came in 24th on the list out of 25~!!!

So what I am asking is what am I doing wrong?? Should I get my license expunged?? Move to another state?? AAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Thank you for letting me vent. Any ideas what the hell to do??

Forum Member

First, don't give up. Let the other guys give up (it makes your odds beter).

Second, realize that you need to work on your interviewing skills. Try www.eatstress.com. It worked for me (I've receivied job offers from a several full time departments), it's worked for others, and it can work for you (but only if you practice with your tape recorder like Capt. Bob says). Interview in as many places as you can- the more practice, the better. Buy a new suit. Practice your answers in the car, in the shower, in the mirror, and with a video camera (of course, if you do some research, you'll already have a good idea of what kind of questions to expect).

Thirdly, just because you did "Average" on the written doesn't mean you don't need to study. There are plenty of study guides on the market- buy some and use them. Time yourself, learn how to concentrate for 2 hours at a time. When you're taking the test for real, use every second they give you. If you have 2 hours to take the test, and you finish in 1, take it again, writing your answers on scratch paper. Compare the answers on your scratch paper and the answers on your scantron- any disparties? then take another look at the question. Written tests can be hard, and the temptation to leave as soon as you're done can be strong, but realize that you're doing this for a 25-30 year career- what's an extra hour or so?