Thread: CISD help

Lightbulb CISD help

Need some help...I am a firefighter/paramedic at a paid department of, what I consider to be, medium size. I have been on the dept. for about 2 years, but have been in public safety for about 9 years total. I have noticed that, though we supposedly have a CISD system in place (according to SOP's), it is rarely, if ever used. The system also lacks what I consider to be some key elements for a good CISD system.

Here's where you come in...I am researching other departments' CISD systems so that I can form a proposal to take to the Chief for a newer, better system that our department members would be more likely to utilize. I plan on doing some more on-line research but I figured this was the best place to start-with the people who know.

So please tell me whatever you can about your dept. CISD system, including the structure of it, success and failure stories, utilization by members-whatever you can think of. Thanks!

MembersZone Subscriber

GAFIREGIRL:
    Good luck. As you can see, not too many responses.
    There is a culture that still exists in the fire service where some department's leadership still believe that CISD is a sign of weakness, that they don't need it, any problems can be addressed internally and they don't need outsiders telling them that there is a problem.
    Our department uses it and quite successfully for any incident resulting in a fatality.
    I believe that it is especially important for new members, who may be working their first fatal incident. There will be questions that they must get the answers to or you will lose them very quickly.
    Though every incident is on a case by case, anyone and I mean anyone on the department has the right to request a debrief.
    And unless you have a clinical psychologist on staff, there will be problems that most departments are not prepared to deal with without the intervention of a trained and qualified team of CISDers.